Shopping at MOM’s and other Sunday Musings

The day started off on a good note with the news that we could pick up our pooch from the hospital! He recovered from a bout of pancreatitis ahead of schedule.  No more acorns for you, buddy!  Apparently acorns are toxic.  Who new?  Cecil will now be sporting a mesh muzzle on his fall walks to prevent him from gobbling up all those acorns that he loves so much.  Hopefully we can prevent any recurrences.  Also learned that Jack Russell Terriers are genetically predisposed to have sensitive digestive systems.  That explains a lot!

Before picking him up, we stopped at MOM’s Organic Market to pick up the week’s groceries.  I don’t know if I’ve mentioned, but MOM”s is my happy place.  We have a Whole Foods two blocks away from our condo, but we are loyal to MOM’s.  MOM’s offers the same quality of organic and local foods at much more affordable prices. Plus, they offer free organic, fair trade coffee for while you shop! Delish.  I actually look forward to our weekly grocery trips!

Top picks from MOM’s this week include:

My agenda for this afternoon is to watch the Redskins game and go our for a pre-dinner run.  Although the game is not off to a wonderful start, I’m optimistic we can get it together.  Check out the pic of us last week at the opening season game vs the Giants on the 10th anniversary of September 11th. That was such an inspiring game to attend.  There was no animosity between fan or players on a day celebrating our nation’s resilience. Plus, the Redskins won 🙂

Opening season Redskins vs. Giants.

I have to admit, Sunday’s are my favorite day of the week.  We try to get all our errands and chores out of the way on Saturday so we can just relax.

UPDATE: The Skins came from behind to win the game!  Totally made my day. The euphoria of being 2-0 carried me through my 3rd day of running in a row.  3.5miles in 34 minutes.  I’ll take it!  Everyone’s a winner today!

2 thoughts on “Shopping at MOM’s and other Sunday Musings

Leave a comment