Holding Myself Accountable

In honor of the season premiere of another season of the Biggest Loser, I thought I’d talk about maintaining a healthy body weight. I am fairly comfortable with my appearance and recognize that any doctor would deem me healthy and fit. That said, I have added a couple of pounds (okay 5) over the past year, which I would prefer to lose. My strategy will be to focus on portion control and eating more whole foods, in addition to working out at least 5 days a week.

To hold myself accountable, I will check in once a week on my progress. Rather than share my actual weight, I will go by BMI since that is standardized to everyone regardless of height. A normal BMI is 18.5 to 24.9 (overweight is 25-29.9; obese 30+).  You can calculate your BMI here.

BMI does not take into consideration physical composition, however, so it is not the perfect indicator. Many athletes have a higher proportion of muscle versus fat, so their BMI is higher. I have been doing weight training consistently for almost a year, so I don’t expect my musculature to dramatically change.

Starting BMI: 25.2
Goal BMI: 24.0

Activity goals:

  • Run 4x week
  • Resistance 2x week

Nutrition goals:

  • Drink at least 8 cups of water per day
  • Bring my lunch to work at least 4 days

I’ll report back next week! Does anyone have any ideas for what to pack for lunch and snacks at work? I won’t make it throughout the day without an afternoon snack!! Otherwise I overdo it at night.

What are your tips for success?!

Leave a comment